My Pennies Don’t Want to be Pinched!

Today is the third day of my fiscal fast, otherwise know as a week without money.  It’s more difficult than I imagined.  No big issues, but I find myself wanting to run get something to drink instead of waiting until I get home, or craving an afternoon snack.  It figures.  Groceries are the area in my budget most likely to leak coin.

To help avoid the temptation, I’ve removed all the cash and cards from my wallet for the rest of the week.  It doesn’t occur to me to run to the store when I know I have no way to pay for it.

There are a couple of things I need… prescriptions to refill.  I’ve budgeted for them, and part of me wants to run and get them NOW, when I know I’ll be fine if I wait until Saturday to pick them up.  I really didn’t expect this week to teach me anything about patience.

Next week will be my Food Stamp Challenge, and I’ve been planning the last two days.  I’ve researched the budget, done some price comparisons at local markets, and need to narrow down a menu.  I want to see if it’s possible to eat on the food stamp budget and still manage to include some organic produce.  It’s always said that the thing that is most difficult in the challenge is getting fresh foods rather than processed.  I’m looking forward to figuring out if it’s true.

2 thoughts on “My Pennies Don’t Want to be Pinched!

  1. I find it extremely difficult as well to go a week without spending. I too have taken my debit and credit cards out of my wallet but the temptation is still always there to spend 😐

  2. WE always seem to want what we can’t have, don’t we? I can be good when I know I don’t have the money to do otherwise, but the minute I get my hands on some cash … I make up for lost time. I suppose the trick is to find the golden mean, but it still eludes me.

Leave a Reply

